Katsu-don has become one of my and Mike’s favorite dishes. But wait! you may protest. Isn’t Katsu-don usually ladled with tender, sweet, and fragrant onions with a layer of soft, poached eggs to tie it all together? The picture above doesn’t have any of the delicious parts!

Yeah, that’s because the picture makes the whole dish look seriously unappetizing. You don’t wanna see it. Just trust me that this is friggen amazing. The crunch of the deep-fried pork cutlet works perfectly with the tenderness of the onions and egg. The rice then soaks up the excess juices. Mm mm good!

Recipe after the jump. Oh and ALL RIGHT, I’ll show you the picture at the end too. But don’t tell me I didn’t warn you…

Katsudon

4 pork cutlets
panko breadcrumbs
4 eggs, scrambled
flour
1-2 onions (I really like the onions, so I tend to use a lot)
3 tbsp mirin
3 tbsp soy sauce
1 1/4 cup daishi stock
a little vegetable oil

  1. Make daishi stock. You can buy them at most Asian markets, but if you’re like me and keep forgetting to buy them, you can also make it at home. Just soak ~5 pieces of kelp and a few dried shiitake mushrooms in ~3 cups of water. The longer you soak them for, the stronger the flavor. But I usually don’t start soaking until I decide to make the dish. To learn more about daishi stock, see here.
  2. Bread your pork cutlets: dip them in flour, scrambled eggs, and then panko breadcrumbs.
  3. Deep fry it, baby. Don’t be afraid of the oil. (Actually, you could also just regular pan fry these…)
  4. Drain them on a paper towel, and when slightly cooled, cut into strips.
  5. Pour in a little oil in pan and sautee onions until translucent.
  6. Add daishi, mirin, and soy sauce. Stir together in pan. Turn down heat and cover. Cook until onions are soft.
  7. Pour the rest of scrambled eggs on top of onion/soup-y mixture. Cook until eggs mostly done (but preferably still a little runny)
  8. Serve strips of pork over rice and pour egg and onion soup-y mixture over it all. Enjoy while hot!

Oh my god, it looks like someone just threw up all over my bowl. And yet it was soooo deliiishoussss

