DSC_0026

So I may have lied about updating 2-3 times a week. I’m just getting more and more busy and crazy. In fact, I shouldn’t be updating at this moment at all. Due to my insane schedule during the week I haven’t been in the mood to really cook anything except fried rice and noodle soups. When I finally turned in my last problem set on Friday afternoon, I decided it was time to relax and live it up. I was going to go to a SEAS social (free pizza and drinks!) and a party later that night with friends I haven’t seen for a long time.

But then Mike suggested we make the gnocchi recipe from Gourmet that he’s been craving forever already. And then he suggested doubling the recipe so we could save some in the freezer for later. And then we spent the next FOUR AND A HALF HOURS in the kitchen. We finally had dinner at 10:30pm. Not only did I miss meeting some more graduate students, but I also missed the XTC fourth ware party.

And I have to say, it wasn’t really worth it. The gnocchi is totally delicious, but what we should have really done is half the recipe, and we would have still have some leftovers to freeze. Instead, our freezer at this point is overflowing with two giant plastic bags of gnocchi in addition to my giant ziplock bag of dumplings. At least now we have enough food to feed an army!

The first night of gnocchi we made with a brown butter and fried sage sauce, as suggested in Gourmet. But it was a little too oily for my tastes. I preferred dressing the gnocchi with regular tomato sauce, as we did the next day.

DSC_0028

And for your viewership pleasure, click below for a picture of Mike kneading the potato dough in a really gay apron (I know, Mike, I told you I wouldn’t post it because it would hurt your manhood. But pink just looks so great on you!). Oh and also, recipe will be below.

DSC_0010Apron says: “One day happen…I ❤ love you!”

Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Fried Sage (not doubled)

I did two things differently from the recipe, which probably hurt my end product. 1) I did not roast the potatoes. Instead I boiled them to save time. 2) We couldn’t find chestnuts at the grocery store, so we couldn’t add shaved chestnuts to the sauce.

1.25 lb russet potatoes (I think I may have used too much potato)
1 sweet potato (though I would suggest 2)
1 egg
1/2 tsp grated nutmeg (would also suggest a little more)
1/3 c freshly grated parmesan, plus more for serving
1.5 to 2c flour (word of warning, we probably ended up using more like 3 cups)

1. Boil potatoes until tender. Poke with fork to determine doneness.
2. While warm, peel potatoes and blend together with food processor.
3. Beat egg, nutmeg, 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp pepper in small bowl.
4. Flour surface lightly, transfer blended potato mess onto the counter or baking sheet.
5. As best as you can, make well in center of potato mess. Add the egg mixture and parm cheese and knead.
6. Add 1.5c of flour and knead well. Add more flour until you achieve a “smooth but slightly sticky dough.”
7. Divide dough into 6 pieces and “roll” each piece into 1/2 inch thick rope. Cut into 1/2 pieces, and roll them into balls.
8. This part is tricky and takes practice. Take a fork at a 45deg angle and using your thumb roll a ball of dough down the fork. You should probably look this up on youtube or something. We had real italians teach us how to do this in Tuscany this summer.
9. Boil water, salt, and dump in these cute little gnocchi. They are ready when they float to the surface of the water (about 3 minutes).

